The Way It Is

I’ve been struggling for a while with the way it is; what I mean by that is how the world today works. To me the world is a place filled with cycles upon cycles, every aspect of our daily lives is programmed for us…go to school, get a job, get married, have kids, retire and we feel guilty if we decide we want to stray from that. I’m in college right now and every day I wonder if I really want to incur so much debt for something I’ll probably never use since I’m not training for a certain profession. I wonder if my life would be better if I just dropped it all and did something that I wanted to do.  I’ve recently thought about how in college, at least mine, we are given a limit on our credit hours in order to earn our B.A. and if we go over these hours we pay double or triple tuition. This may save the state and government money but it also reduces the amount of money they can make off the majority of college students who can’t afford college anyway since student loans are a great cash earner. It also allows students to enter the workforce quickly and thus provide a better economy as they are new capital that is now producing, earning, and then spending. However, it rips a student from being able to explore different fields especially if one is unsure of ones current education route. So thank you education system for having me make the choice as soon as possible, thanks for not allowing me to learn about everything I want, thanks for caring. Society you suck.

Leave a Reply

